Packing for a trip that isn’t happening

Hi everyone, so today we’re trying something a bit different.

I was due to go to Bournemouth in 2 days to see Rhod Gilbert and explore the seaside, but then coronavirus came along and now that trip is not happening. We’re obviously gutted about this but it was inevitable as soon as the UK began being hit hard by the virus, and obviously, there are a lot worse things that can happen during this time than a holiday being cancelled. Rhod Gilbert got postponed and we were originally planning on still going on the trip, but then lockdown came into place so that hasn’t happened. We were both eager to spend time together on this trip as its the first holiday my Boyfriend’s had since we went to Scotland in January, however, he has been furloughed in work and so we’ve managed to spend a lot more time together than we ever anticipated.

I’ve had this blog post planned for ages, it was written back in February and has been sitting in my queued box since then, so I thought rather than deleting all my work I’d just publish it anyway.. so I welcome you to “Packing for a Trip that isn’t happening”, please enjoy! And let me know what you think in the comments.

On a serious note, I hope you’re all well and that you’re staying safe! My heart breaks for everyone who is struggling during this difficult time, but we will get through this, and we’re going to come out of this stronger than we were before.

“Hey everyone! Hope all is well with you all. I can’t believe it’s only 2 days until I’m due to go to Bournemouth, it only feels like yesterday I came back from Scotland and was counting down the days until the next chance to get away. But it’s here, and so is another installment in the “Packing for a …” blog series, this time Planning for a Mini Break: Bournemouth Edition.

I’ve previously mentioned that I’m going to Bournemouth but I’ve never really explained why so here’s the low down. My Boyfriend loves Rhod Gilbert (don’t we all?), and so I wanted to get him tickets for Rhod Gilbert’s Book of John tour, however when I looked for tickets the only place that I could get tickets for was in Bournemouth (not long after I bought the tickets, extra Cardiff and Swansea dates were added, but let’s not talk about that) and so I booked the show, booked a hotel and here we are. We’re catching a train to Bournemouth on Wednesday the 22nd to watch Rhod Gilbert in Bournemouth Pavillion Theatre that evening, and then we have 2 days to play with as we aren’t due to check out until Friday the 24th. A very big part of me is hoping that we get sunshine and nice weather the entire time we’re there, but as we’re in the UK that’s not guaranteed and so I will be packing spare clothes incase of bad weather.

Clothes: 

  • Travelling: Black T-shirt dress with trainers and leather jacket.
  • Wednesday Night (Rhod Gilbert): Leopard Print Midi Skirt, Black Bodysuit and Black heels.
  • Thursday Day (Sunny): Summer dress and sandals.
  • Thursday Day (Wet Weather): Summer top, light blue jeans, clear Mac and trainers.
  • Thursday Evening: Leather Midi Skirt, Floral mesh Bodysuit and Black heels.
  • Friday (Spare): Loungewear Jumpsuit and trainers.
  • Pajamas.
  • Bikini.
  • Underwear Sets x4
  • Socks x4
  • Sunglasses.

Other Bits and Bobs: 

  • Rhod Gilbert tickets.
  • Train tickets (outbound and return).
  • 16-25 Railcard.
  • Cash and Debit Card
  • ID (Drivers License).
  • Make-up Bag.
  • Toiletries (deodrant, perfume, shower gel, shampoo, conditioner, toothbrush, toothpaste, etc.)
  • Beach towel.
  • Sun Cream
  • Phone chargers.
  • Portable chargers.
  • Snacks for the train journey.

And there’s everything that I will be packing for our mini-break to Bournemouth, if I find myself packing anything that I haven’t listed above I’ll be sure to edit and add it to the list. Am I missing anything? What’s your travel essentials? Let me know in the comments.

I’ll be back next Monday with a post all about my mini-break in Bournemouth, until then,

C x”

Leave a comment